Share:
Notifications
Clear all

[Solved] Support generated by Prusa Slicer are difficult to remove

tankenland
(@tankenland)

I have been using Cura for a few years ... and never have problem on removing support from the model. Recently, I have change to Prusa Slicer and just try a few print with no support and the quality is fine. However, I am facing problem when printing part with support. The support stick directly with the part an dis almost impossible to remove it without breaking the part.

I have also check the slicer setting about the contact z distance. I see the default is 0.2 for break away support. Is that anyway to increase the distance. Or any other settings that I can change to make the support can be easily removed?

P.S. I am printing with Anet A8 (AM8 upgrade, E3D v6 hotend), Material is PLA, layer height 0.2mm.

Topic starter Posted : 18/05/2020 1:02 pm
ThreeDeeDave
(@threedeedave)

Hi @tankenland

My name is Dave and I am one of the experts here at IO3DP, nice to meet you.

Supports are one of those things that are necessary to 3D printing but are a bit of a pain and its very annoying when they don't do their job properly! We can definitely tune your settings to get you some nice removable support.

Thanks for sending a picture of your settings, very helpful. 

First off please see the attached file. Its a usefull support calibration STL that I have used before that can help you quickly test your settings. 

So starting from the top of your support material and raft settings:

Contact z distance: You can change this value to something greater if you wish ( say to 0.3 ), however things may get lost like dimensional accuracy and some finer detail on intricate prints so I would keep this the same. Only make this value bigger if all other options haven't worked to your liking.