Share:
Notifications
Clear all

New! Need a starting point

hazmatt99
(@hazmatt99)
Trusted Member

Hello! So I'm very new to 3D printing and would like some help with slicer settings for prints.

I'm using a TRONXY model XY-2 Pro with a Titan extruder. The rest of the parts came standard, 0.4mm nozzle, 10 inch heated print bed, etc. I've been using TRONXY's provided slicer based on cura. 

I've done several prints so far both for finished products and for calibration and while some of the settings I'm messing with do make sense to me I'm still very inexperienced and I'd like to get ahead of the problems I'm likely to cause in the future stumbling in the dark lol.

Looking for direct assistance or reference to existing educational material for the following things:

1. General basic settings for prints, layer height, nozzle temp, print speed, etc. Focusing on minimal defects and quality, I can try to optimize print time and material usage later. (Only concerned with PLA right now but if it's convenient I wouldn't say no to recommended settings for other common materials)

2. Print bed issues. I think it's a tempered glass bed? Relatively flexible but overall rigid, since I started using it I've been having trouble with leftover material getting stuck to it, most recent print was really bad it basically pulled the bottom of the print off. Looking for ways to clean it without damaging it, preventing material from sticking in the future (slicer settings, or if I need to buy a different type of print bed I'm fine with that)

3. Maintenance. I know there are several things I should be checking over time to see if the hardware integrity is starting to wear down, I just don't know how. Any recommended tools or tests for belt tension, nozzle wear, or any other parts that get replaced frequently? General part lifetimes to replace for preventative maintenance?