Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Slice settings for Nylon

SusanOKC
(@susanokc)
Famed Member

Hi, Luke! I'm wondering if you have advice on Prusa settings for printing with Nylon.  I'm using the eSun PA-CF and a Prusa i3 MK3S+ with glass plate.  I've dried the filament for 48 hours.  My first test was okay but not fabulous.  Attached are my test settings with the pieces I'm trying to print.  Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Topic starter Posted : 08/09/2021 2:58 pm
Luke
 Luke
(@lmf5000)
Expert Moderator

Hi Susan! Nice to hear from you again! 🙂

I have no first-hand experience with this material, but I managed to dig up this site which goes into a lot of detail on what worked for one user with this particular filament - https://www.schweinert.com/my-recipe-for-3d-printing-with-esun-pa-cf/

Basically it's carbon-fiber filled nylon. Since carbon fiber is abrasive, you'll need a hardened nozzle (stainless steel or hardened steel). If you try to use a regular brass nozzle the filament will rapidly eat away the orifice, increasing its diameter until it punches straight through..

Being nylon, you'll want to make sure it's as dry as possible, so you're already on the right track. In fact, for best results you can build or buy an enclosure for the spools which keeps them dry even while printing (which become important on prints that run for longer than a few hours). Esun themselves also offer such a solution (in case you don't already have a food dehydrator and a filament drybox) - https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32930660621.html . Keeping nylon dry is the single biggest factor in preventing the prints from turning out weak and stringy.

Onto the profile. Is there a reason you felt you needed 2.5mm of retraction distance? Eg. were you getting bad results with smaller distance?

Some settings I suggest changing: